The Convocation membership is open to the following upon payment of the necessary fees as stipulated in the Constitution:

• The Vice-Chancellor

• The Deputy Vice-Chancellors

• All members of the academic staff 

• All persons who become graduates of the University provided that no such graduate shall become a member of the Convocation unless he/she is ordinary resident in the United Republic of Tanzania

• Such persons as the Chancellor may appoint as members of the Convocation.