The OUT Convocation comprises the Vice Chancellor, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic), The Deputy Vice Chancellor (Resources Management), Deputy Vice Chancellor (Regional Services), all members of Academic Staff, all persons who become graduates of the University and such persons as the Chancellor may appoint as members of the Convocation. The Convocation is led by a President who is elected by the members and presides over a three-year period. The Deputy Vice Chancellor (Resources Management) is the Secretary to Convocation. 

The Convocation has an Executive Committee which is the executive organ chaired by the President. The Committee is responsible for overseeing implementation of the main functions of the Convocation. Other members of the Executive Committee of the Convocation are the Secretary, Treasurer, Chairman and Editor of Convocation Newsletter and eight other members including Deans and Directors.

Every year the Convocation organizes a General Meeting attended by all members where issues of concern and relevance to the University, alumni and the wider society are discussed.

Currently, the Secretariat of the Open University of Tanzania Convocation is hosted in the Office of DVC (Resources Management) located in Block D of the OUT temporary Headquarters, near Biafra Grounds, off Kawawa Road, Kinondoni, Dar es Salaam. The Secretariat keeps the alumni office up to date with information of its members. 

Mrs Nuru Abdallah who is Assistant to DVC (Resources Management) is responsible for handling day-to-day matters of the Convocation and is assisted with other officers in the offices of DVC (Resources Management) and DVC (Academic)